facade_negresco_bw-13-5 facade_negresco_coul-12-5

The unexpected palace

100 years… the Negresco has been overlooking one of the French Riviera’s most beautiful bays for a century. This large white vessel moored at the Baie des Anges has become a legend. A legend of a very French art of living forged year after year. Unique and timeless, the Negresco is above all a place where everything is possible, flamboyance served on a tray. The unique rooms are equipped with exceptional authentic furniture and works of art from Louis XIII period to today. Facing the Mediterranean Sea on the famous Promenade des Anglais, the hotel is a few minutes’ walk away from Nice old town

+
3_bw 3

History & portraits

The Negresco first opened its doors on January 8th, 1913. The hotel, designed by Henri Negrescu, immediately attracted a brilliant international clientele, Kings of the old and the new world : the Vanderbilts, Portugal’s Queen Amélie, the Grand Dukes Vladimir and Dimitri... Since then, numerous people have signed the guest book: the artist Dali, Princess Grace of Monaco, the Beatles, Louis Armstrong, Elton John,… many celebrities have enjoyed a stay on the French Riviera to live a little of the ‘Negresco myth’. Jeanne Augier is the guardian of this myth. Owner of the Palace since 1957, this great lady - with deeply-rooted convictions – has devoted her life to the preservation and the development of this unique heritage.

+
2_bw-2 2

Staging the art

Negresco owes its strong identity partly to a large art collection comprised of over 6 000 references. Jeanne Augier's passion for her establishment expresses itself through one strong idea: presenting her guests the great hours of French art. That way you can admire the generous forms of Niki de Saint Phalle's Nana Jaune in the Royal Lounge or the series of seven brightly colored rugs designed by Raymond Moretti. Floor carpets were made from an original work by Yvaral in 1974. The rooms display an impressive collection of works by great artists from every period. The Versailles Lounge hosts Louis XIV's portrait, identical to that exhibited at the Louvre or Versailles. This canvas by Hyacinthe Rigaud is one of the most beautiful pieces on show.

+

facade_negresco_bw-13-5 facade_negresco_coul-12-5

Le Palace Inattendu

100 ans… voici déjà un siècle que Le Negresco écrit les plus belles pages de la Côte d’Azur. Ce grand vaisseau blanc amarré au bord de la Baie des Anges est devenu une légende. Celle d’un art de vivre incroyablement français qui s’est forgé année après année. Unique et intemporel, Le Negresco est avant tout le lieu de tous les possibles, une extravagance servie sur un plateau. Les chambres sont aménagées et personnalisées avec d'exceptionnels mobiliers authentiques et des œuvres d'art de Louis XIII à nos jours. Face à la Mer Méditerranée, sur la célèbre Promenade des Anglais, il est à quelques minutes à pieds de la vielle ville de Nice.

+
3_bw 3

Histoire & Portraits

Le 8 janvier 1913 le Negresco ouvre ses portes, l’hôtel conçu par Henri Negrescu attire immédiatement une clientèle internationale brillante, souverains de l’ancien et du nouveau monde : les Vanderbilt, la Reine Amélie du Portugal, le Comte de Paris, les Grands Ducs Vladimir et Dimitri... Depuis, ils sont nombreux à avoir signé le livre d’or, le peintre Dali, la Princesse Grace de Monaco, les Beatles, Louis Armstrong, Elton John,…autant de célébrités qui ont profité d’un séjour sur la Côte pour vivre un peu du mythe du Negresco. Ce mythe c’est Jeanne Augier qui en est la gardienne. Propriétaire du Palace depuis 1957, cette grande dame aux convictions bien ancrées a voué sa vie à la préservation et à la valorisation de ce patrimoine unique.

+
2_bw-2 2

L’Art En Scene

Son identité forte, le Negresco la doit en partie à une importante collection d’œuvres d’art comptant plus de 6 000 références. La passion de Jeanne AUGIER pour sa Maison s’est exprimée autour d’une idée forte : présenter les grandes heures de l’art français à ses hôtes. C’est ainsi que l’on peut admirer les formes opulentes de la Nana Jaune de Niki de Saint Phalle dans le Salon Royal ou la série de sept tapis aux couleurs vives signés Raymond Moretti. Les moquettes d’étages ont été fabriquées à partir d’une œuvre originale commandée à Yvaral en 1974. Les chambres sont autant d’écrins pour une collection impressionnante d’œuvres de grands artistes de toutes les époques. Les figures historiques sont elles aussi représentées. Le Salon Versailles accueille le portrait de Louis XIV tel qu’on peut le voir au Louvre et à Versailles. Cette toile signée Hyacinthe Rigaud est l’une des plus belles pièces exposées.

+